Can I play with madness?

An empty vessel. Who can’t make contact.

I don’t want to be a prologue to history.

Time for a visit to the Interzone?

Sleeping in the arms of Morpheus.

Tech noir. Cyberpunk.

The cliched Matrix.

Or maybe ‘Blade Runner’.

Post-modern.

The post-industrial dystopia.

Social decay, artificial intelligence, paranoia in bloom. The rose has never smelled so sweet. Blurred lines between objective and subjective realities. The nihilistic underground of an electronic society.

The world as a dark, sinister place with networked computers dominating every aspect of life?

Google’s motto is ‘don’t be evil’.

I signed away my cybersoul a long time ago. And not in a galaxy far, far away.  I’m not the ‘droid you’re looking for.

Giant, multinational corporations replacing governments as centres of political, economic, and even military power. The hacker as the new Raymond Chandler. The classic ‘detective’ novel with the new twist of ‘hero’ as society’s ‘misfit’.

The punk. Oh, mommy, what’s a Sex Pistol?

Truth stranger than fiction, non?

The street finds its own uses for things. The new fashion. The new datasphere.

The demolished man.

The multimedia junkie.

I want a new drug.

I look at the delete key.

~ by hooklineandthinker on December 16, 2010.

 
